PC SOFT

ONLINE HELP
FOR WINDEV, WEBDEV AND WINDEV MOBILE

Home | Sign in | English US
  • Overview
  • Controlling the application remotely
  • Controlling the application remotely
  • Application status
  • Duration of checks
  • Managing the disconnection of users automatically
  • Informing about the last update
  • Finding out the characteristics of the application users
WINDEV
WindowsLinuxUniversal Windows 10 AppJavaReports and QueriesUser code (UMC)
WEBDEV
WindowsLinuxPHPWEBDEV - Browser code
WINDEV Mobile
AndroidAndroid Widget iPhone/iPadApple WatchUniversal Windows 10 AppWindows Mobile
Others
Stored procedures
Overview
For each network application listed in the User Control Center, the "Management of network applications" section is used to:
Controlling the application remotely

Controlling the application remotely

The remote control of a WINDEV application allows the manager of an application used in network to manage the automatic or forced shutdown of the application for all the current users. This application shutdown may be required when updating the application or the database for example.

Application status

  • Standard operating mode: the disconnection of the application users will be automatically managed.
  • Connection forbidden: the users will not be able to connect to the application. When running the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed during the specified "display duration of messages".
    The users who are already connected will be able to use the application as usual.
  • Warning of imminent shutdown: the associated warning message will be displayed on the computers of the users currently connected to the application. This message will be displayed:
    • during the specified "display duration of messages".
    • whenever the application checks its status by connecting to the server. This check is performed at regular time intervals (defined in "Status checked every").
      If users try to connect to the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed.
  • Forced stop: the shutdown message is displayed on the computers of the users currently connected to the application. This message will be displayed:
    • during the specified "display duration of messages".
    • as soon as the application checks its status by connecting to the server. This check is performed at regular time intervals (defined in "Status checked every").
      Once this message is displayed, the users will be automatically disconnected and they will not be able to reconnect.
      If users try to connect to the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed.

Duration of checks

  • Status checked every: In an application installed in network, the user application checks its status at regular time intervals in relation to the server application (reference application).
  • Display duration of messages: The different messages of WDADMINEXE (forbidden connection, imminent shutdown and forced stop) are displayed during the specified duration. The window displaying this message can be closed by the users before the end of the specified duration.

Managing the disconnection of users automatically

Check "Standard operating mode" if you want the disconnection of the application users to be managed automatically.
If this option is checked, the following operations will be automatically performed during the mandatory update of the application on the server:
  • The users currently connected to the application are listed.
  • As soon as the user application checks its status by connecting to the server, the message indicating an imminent shutdown will be displayed on the user computers. This message will be displayed during the specified display duration.
  • Once all the users have received the message indicating an imminent shutdown, the application update on the server switches to "Forced stop" during two minutes.
  • During these two minutes, the shutdown message is displayed on the user computers.
  • After these two minutes, the users will be automatically disconnected and they will be able to reconnect at the end of the application update on the server.
  • Once the application was updated on the server, the users who reconnect to the application will have to update their user application.
If this option is checked, the following operations will be performed during the optional update of the application on the server:
  • The update of the application on the server is performed as usual.
  • The users currently connected to the application will not be disconnected.
  • Once the application was updated on the server, the users who reconnect to the application will have to choose between installing the update or starting the application directly.
Informing about the last update
The "Parameter" tab contains information regarding the last available update for the application
  • the reference path on the server.
  • the current version number. This number corresponds to the version number of the last executable installed.
  • the number of the earliest compatible version. This number corresponds to the version number of the executable found on the user computers from which the update is optional.
  • the history of the current version. This history contains the modifications performed by the developer in the current version of the application. This history was entered when creating the setup program of the current version.
Finding out the characteristics of the application users
The "Users" tab of WDADMINEXE allows you to find out from the server:
  • the users currently connected to the application,
  • for each connected user:
    • the computer used to start the application,
    • the IP address,
    • the user name,
    • the connection date,
    • the connection time,
    • the version of the application used.
An automatic refresh is performed at regular time interval. This option can be disabled or configured:
  • Slow (30 s.)
  • Medium (10 s.)
  • Fast (1 s.)
Minimum required version
  • Version 9
This page is also available for…
Comments
Click [Add] to post a comment