PC SOFT

ONLINE HELP
FOR WINDEV, WEBDEV AND WINDEV MOBILE

  • Overview
  • Application status
  • Managing the disconnection of users automatically
  • Checking the updates
WINDEV
WindowsLinuxUniversal Windows 10 AppJavaReports and QueriesUser code (UMC)
WEBDEV
WindowsLinuxPHPWEBDEV - Browser code
WINDEV Mobile
AndroidAndroid Widget iPhone/iPadApple WatchUniversal Windows 10 AppWindows Mobile
Others
Stored procedures
Overview
The remote control of a WINDEV application allows the manager of a network application:
The setting of this management is performed in the "Application control" tab of WDADMINEXE.The setting of this management is performed in the "Control" tab of WDADMINEXE.
Important: If the options for remote control are directly modified in "WDADMINEXE" (management program), these options will be reinitialized at each setup with the options specified when creating the setup program.
Application status
The "Control" tab of WDADMINEXE is used to manage the application status and the messages displayed according to this status:
WDADMINEXE - Control tab
  • Standard operating mode: the disconnection of the application users will be automatically managed. See Managing the automatic disconnection for more details.
  • Connection forbidden: the users will not be able to connect to the application. When running the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed during the specified "display duration of messages".
    The users who are already connected will be able to use the application as usual.
  • Warning of imminent shutdown: the associated warning message will be displayed on the computers of the users currently connected to the application. This message will be displayed:
    • during the specified "display duration of messages".
    • whenever the application checks its status by connecting to the server. This check is performed at regular time intervals (defined in "Status checked every").
      If users try to connect to the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed.
  • Forced stop: the shutdown message is displayed on the computers of the users currently connected to the application. This message will be displayed:
    • during the specified "display duration of messages".
    • as soon as the application checks its status by connecting to the server. This check is performed at regular time intervals (defined in "Status checked every").
      Once this message is displayed, the users will be automatically disconnected and they will not be able to reconnect.
      If users try to connect to the application, the message associated with the forbidden connection will be displayed.
The options regarding the duration of controls are as follows:
Duration of controls
  • Status checked every: In an application installed in network, the user application checks its status at regular time intervals in relation to the server application (reference application).
  • Display duration of messages: The different messages of WDADMINEXE (forbidden connection, imminent shutdown and forced stop) are displayed during the specified duration. The window displaying this message can be closed by the users before the end of the specified duration.
Managing the disconnection of users automatically
In order for the disconnection of users to be automatically performed, all you have to do is select "Standard operating mode".
If this option is selected, during the mandatory update of the application on the server, the following operations are automatically performed:
  • The users currently connected to the application are listed.
  • As soon as the user application checks its status by connecting to the server, the message indicating an imminent shutdown will be displayed on the user computers. This message will be displayed during the specified display duration.
  • Once all the users have received the message indicating an imminent shutdown, the application update on the server switches to "Forced stop" during two minutes.
  • During these two minutes, the shutdown message is displayed on the user computers.
  • After these two minutes, the users will be automatically disconnected and they will be able to reconnect at the end of the application update on the server.
  • Once the application was updated on the server, the users who reconnect to the application will have to update their user application.
If this option is selected, during the optional update of the application on the server, the following operations are automatically performed:
  • The update of the application on the server is performed as usual.
  • The users currently connected to the application will not be disconnected.
  • Once the application was updated on the server, the users who reconnect to the application will have to choose between installing the update or starting the application directly.
Versions 17 and later
Checking the updates
The "Control" tab of WDADMINEXE is used to manage the check of updates:
Checking the updates
By default, the availability of an update on the server is checked whenever the application is started. This check frequency can be configured. It can be performed:
  • Whenever the application is started.
  • Every X days.
Whenever it is started, an application installed via a network setup checks whether an update is available on the reference server.
  • If a more recent version is available on the server, the application update is proposed to the end user.
  • If the network connection is not found when opening the application, a warning message is displayed by default.
    This message can be useless for an application used on a mobile device, connected intermittently. In this case, all you have to do is select "Silent check: Don't inform the user"
New in version 17
Checking the updates
The "Control" tab of WDADMINEXE is used to manage the check of updates:
Checking the updates
By default, the availability of an update on the server is checked whenever the application is started. This check frequency can be configured. It can be performed:
  • Whenever the application is started.
  • Every X days.
Whenever it is started, an application installed via a network setup checks whether an update is available on the reference server.
  • If a more recent version is available on the server, the application update is proposed to the end user.
  • If the network connection is not found when opening the application, a warning message is displayed by default.
    This message can be useless for an application used on a mobile device, connected intermittently. In this case, all you have to do is select "Silent check: Don't inform the user"
Checking the updates
The "Control" tab of WDADMINEXE is used to manage the check of updates:
Checking the updates
By default, the availability of an update on the server is checked whenever the application is started. This check frequency can be configured. It can be performed:
  • Whenever the application is started.
  • Every X days.
Whenever it is started, an application installed via a network setup checks whether an update is available on the reference server.
  • If a more recent version is available on the server, the application update is proposed to the end user.
  • If the network connection is not found when opening the application, a warning message is displayed by default.
    This message can be useless for an application used on a mobile device, connected intermittently. In this case, all you have to do is select "Silent check: Don't inform the user"
Minimum required version
  • Version 9
Comments
Click [Add] to post a comment